Justices of the Peace, Recorder's Courts and Commissioners' Courts.—These Courts are established by provincial authority. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction. The Recorder's Courts and Commissioners' Courts deal largely with municipal matters.

Ontario.—Supreme Court (R.S.O. 1937, c. 100).—The Supreme Court of Ontario consists of two divisions, one of which is known as the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the other as the High Court of Justice for Ontario. The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Ontario, and seven other judges. The High Court of Justice consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of the High Court, and 14 other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court of Appeal has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the High Court of Justice has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters.

County and District Courts (R.S.O. 1937, c. 103).—The Province is divided into 48 counties and districts with a County or District Court for each county or district and one or more judges for each Court. There are 62 judges in all, and they are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has criminal jurisdiction, jurisdiction in contracts where the amount claimed does not exceed \$800 and jurisdiction in personal and property actions where the amount claimed does not exceed \$500.

Surrogate Courts (R.S.O. 1937, c. 106).—There is a Surrogate Court for each county or district. The Court has jurisdiction to deal with probate and administration matters and is presided over by the County or District Court judge for the district.

Division Courts (R.S.O. 1937, c. 107).—There are 285 Division Courts throughout the Province. These are presided over by the County or District Court judge who sits in the jurisdiction where the particular Division Court is located. Jurisdiction is limited to cases up to \$200 except where there is a written contract or a promise in which case jurisdiction extends to \$400.

Juvenile Courts (R.S.O. 1937, c. 316).—The Juvenile Court for Ontario has jurisdiction in juvenile cases under provincial legislation; in addition it is a Juvenile Court for the purposes of the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act. The judges are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council; sometimes the county or district judge is appointed, sometimes the local magistrate and sometimes a person is appointed specially for the purpose of acting as a Juvenile Court judge.

Magistrates (R.S.O. 1937, c. 133).—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction and are ex officio justices of the peace.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.O. 1937, c. 132).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Manitoba.—Court of Appeal (R.S.M. 1940, c. 40).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Manitoba, and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province.